GLASSTORM: Contemporary Glass Studio
illustrative GLASSTORM image

Migrate ’09 30 Years of Scottish Glass

Scottish Glass Society - MIGRATE Exhibition

To celebrate 30 years of the Scottish Glass Society we would like to introduce Migrate ‘09, which will showcase the best of emerging and established Scottish glass artists. This contemporary art glass exhibition will examine the different ways that artists express a sense of place and identity in their work; bringing together a collective of glass artists that actively challenge and contribute to the rich Scottish Art scene.

The show is dedicated to the memory of Dan Klein, honorary president of The Scottish Glass Society, one of the founders and directors of North Lands Creative Glass in Lybster, Caithness and guest juror for the Migrate exhibition. His selection of work is a great tribute to the art form and will hopefully raise further awareness about the quality of Contemporary Scottish Glass and its individual practising artists.

Thirty contributing artists have responded to the theme of migration in diverse and thought-provoking ways, employing a variety of techniques. Blown, cast, engraved, flame-worked, cut, polished and painted, the work on show demonstrates innovative contemporary design, fine craftsmanship and vibrant experimentation.

The first leg of the touring exhibition will begin with the Highland Galleries in early July and will start at the Inverness Museum & Art Gallery, then onto the St Fergus Gallery in Wick, the Iona Gallery, in Kingussie and will finish at the Broadfield House Glass Museum, in the West Midlands.

The Exhibition will feature 30 selected Glass Artists; the range of work will include cast, etched, engraved, slumped, fused, blown, leaded, stained and painted panels, forms and sculptural pieces.

The following artists work will be on show: Karen Akester, Kim Bramley, Nichola Burns, Keeryong Choi, James Denison Pender, Junko Eager, Rachel Elliott, Carrie Fertig, Dominic Fonde, Alexander Galloway, Siobhan Healy, Kate Henderson, Max Jacquard, Jessamy Kelly, Alison Kinnaird, Emma Lindsay, Karen Liversedge, Tanwen Llewelyn. Julia Malle, Eilidh MacKenzie, Judith Ann McCrorie, Rosalynd McKenzie, Dennis Mann, Keiko Mukaide, Stephen Richard, Alan Robinson, Liz Rowley, Angela Steel, Max Stewart, and Jeff Zimmer. 

Inverness Museum & Art Gallery, Inverness: 4th July – 1st August 2009
St Fergus Gallery, Wick: 7th August – 12th September 2009
Iona Gallery, Kingussie: 19th September – 17th October 2009
Broadfield House Glass Museum, West Midlands 14th November – 11th March 2010

DOWNLOAD Migrate 30 Years of Scottish Glass Catelogue / visit NEWS for migrate reviews / articles




Glasstorm on Facebook Glasstorm on LinkedIn

GLASSTORM Contemporary Glass Studio & Gallery, 2 Chapel Street, Tain, Ross-Shire, Scotland, IV19 1EL
Tel: +44(0)1862 893 189    email:    © GLASSTORM 2016
Website creation: Plexus Media